Riding Ability Level:
 Click on rating

Ski Technical Difficulty:
 Click on rating

Mountain Skill Rating:
 Click on rating

Physical Condition:
 Click on rating

Max. Class Size: 6

Includes:
pack, avalanche transceiver, probe and shovel.

*Bring your own boots.



Operating under Special Use Permit, Tahoe National Forest.

Backcountry Splitboarding

Intro To Splitboarding    1 Day

The splitboard is the most versitile and practical way to travel and descend backcountry terrain with a snowboard.

After fitting gear and a brief orientation, we'll shuttle to our trailhead near Donner Pass for the day's lesson/tour. After good uphill travel with convertible bindings and climbing skins, we'll transition back to snowboard for a classic North Tahoe descent.

Skills covered will include:
  • Appropriate clothing and accessories
  • Use of splitboard and bindings, colapsable poles and climbing skins
  • Intro to avalanche transceiver, probe and shovel
  • Uphill travel techniques with skins including kick turns
  • Avalanche hazard recognition and avoidance
  • Downhill group travel technique
REGISTER >>>
Cost: $179
DOES NOT INCLUDE SPLITBOARD GEAR

Rentals offered through The Back Country at ASI discounted rate.

Call 530-582-0909



Dates:
Dec 17, 2016 (Sat)
Dec 18, 2016 (Sun)
Dec 31, 2016 (Sun)
Jan 7, 2017 (Sat)
Jan 14, 2017 (Sat - MLK Weekend)
Jan 28, 2017 (Sat)
Feb 4, 2017 (Sat)
Feb 18, 2017 (Sat - President's Weekend)
Feb 25, 2017 (Sat)
Mar 4, 2017 (Sat)
Mar 11, 2017 (Sat)
Mar 18, 2017 (Sat)
Mar 25, 2017 (Sat)








Prerequisites:
This program requires advanced snowboarding skills for riders ready to link turns in the fall-line in ungroomed snow conditions. Riders need to be in at least very good physical condition ready for properly paced uphills with climbing skins.



Questions about this course?

Name:  Email:




   Equipment List
   Logistics

   Avalanche Forecast
   Weather Forecast
   Road Conditions
   Trip Insurance




©2016 Alpine Skills International  
Site Map